Georgia Deer Archery Season

Deer hunting season is one of the most highly anticipated times of the year for many in the state, according to the Georgia Department of Natural Resources’ Wildlife Resources Division. Archers get the first opportunity at bringing home a deer beginning Saturday, Sept. 14.

Last year, 113,566 archery hunters harvested more than 60,190 deer. Statewide archery season runs through Oct. 11, although hunters may hunt deer with archery equipment through the entire deer season (Jan. 1 in Northern Zone and Jan. 15 in the Southern Zone).

“Spring and summer seasons with abundant rainfall, like Georgia has experienced this year, generally produce abundant natural foods,” said John W. Bowers, chief of Game Management. “These conditions often contribute to an increase in deer quality, but can also make it a challenging year to hunt deer.”  Continue reading

How I Met My Hobby

I have always had fascination with taxidermy. It is no doubt a product of my deep love of the outdoors, of hunting andTinymite fishing as boy as far back as I can remember. I think the first time I ever really noticed was at my Aunt and Uncles house in Odessa Florida. Uncle Paul had several large bass mounted on the wall which made an impression on me though it was not really the taxidermy that fascinated me so much back then, but rather the drive to catch one of my own.  Like any other fishing enthusiast, it was “the big one” that I was after and those fish on the wall represented the ones that didn’t get away from someone else.

Continue Reading >